Skip to content

Annointed Beauty Daily Devotions Ministry


 

____________________________________________________________________________

DEVOTION :

Title: One More Chance

This Week’s featured Writer: Djinsad Desir

View his website: http://www.dabigdjin.com/keepthinking

____________________________________________________________________________

 

When I was younger, I used to spend every summer in Montreal with my dad’s brother and his family.  As my cousins and I would play video games, eat great food, and run around in the backyard enjoying the cool Montreal summer breeze, I always felt like those summers were the most carefree times of my life. I remember one summer in particular that was a little different than the rest.  I was a little older that year and my father felt it was time for me to make my summers a little more productive.  So, as he got ready to drive me up to Canada, he dropped a box with a brand-new, two-wheeler bicycle next to my suitcase in the trunk of the car.  “Your uncle is going to teach you how to ride this this summer, no matter what,” he said as he closed the trunk and we started on our way. That summer was not fun.  Definitely not at first.  Riding a bicycle was not as easy as it seemed, especially as I watched my older cousins zipping around on their bicycles. 

n806101_3252.jpg

Meanwhile, my uncle patiently walked with me as I learned the intricasies of riding.  Mounting, balance, steering, and speed were too much for me to handle all at once and after the first few days, I was feeling extremely dejected after my many scrapes and spills.  But each day, my uncle would come home from work, park his car out front, and call me outside to start anew, giving me one more chance to get back on and try again. Thinking back, that summer really was a lesson in life.  There comes a point in the life of a Christian when God decides its time for you to be infinitely more than you thought you could ever be. 

Knowing the balance, strength, faith, and love that is required of you, God himself moves to put you on his crash course in holiness.  It’s a crash course not only because it comes at you fast and unexpectedly, but also because as you head towards a deeper understanding of the love of God, you’ll crash into the Enemy himself, eager to discourage you and lead you to fall…over and over again. But as you examine the scrapes that life gives and as you seek to let sin’s tender bruises heal, remember the  words of Jesus-Christ to all those who seek Him with all their hearts, “[A]nd lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20, NKJV) (empahsis added)  My uncle’s patience and persistence impressed upon me a desire to get back on each day.  But it was no longer for me, but his patience led me to want to please him in return.  Because of the love God demonstrated for us through the death of his Son on Calvary, we too should never give up.  Jesus died to give each of us one more chance each day to get to know him better and to give a holy life a try anew. 

It is a privilege that is not impossible to enjoy, but instead, it was the very purpose of salvation.  Sure enough, I did learn to ride that summer.  But I also learned a lot about love.  Take each and every day as a do-over and claim it as one more chance to please our Heavenly Father, by the power of the Holy Spirit.  He promised that he would never leave you, so take this confidence with you no matter what life throws at you.  And on that day when Jesus returns, when we finish the course that God has laid out for us, we’ll be incredibly surprised to see that our personal holiness could actually resemble that of Christ our King. “Ye shall therefore be holy, for I am holy.” (Leviticus 11:45, NKJV) 

– Djinsad

