Skip to content

Annointed Beauty Daily Devotions Ministry


This Week’s featured Writer: Kristia Beaubrun

http://kristiabeaubrun.wordpress.com

So no more excuses. I had to get it done. I was old enough and finally had the time. I can’t take it anymore, I need my independence already.

Started saving the funds. I was determined more than ever to get the wheels rolling. Made the call despite the nervous butterflies in my stomach. After many passing thoughts, would it finally become a reality? Was I finally ready? Whether or not I was, I went ahead and took the first step.

exec-director-3.jpg 

Meet Kristia Beaubrun!

This young lady has been called to the ministry of Christian Writing and has been using the Called2Ministry platform as a means of developing this skill. She holds a degree in Journalism and is in the process of obtaining a graduate degree in Religion and Christian writing. She is a member of the Hebron SDA Church and currently holds the positions of Adventurer’s Director and Associate Youth Division Sabbath School Director. She has proven time and time again, that the ministry of the Lord and His church is her first priority. A great leader, a great sister and friend, Kristia is an example of total surrender to God. To read more of her writings, please visit her blog above or filter through our articles and I am sure you will land on many of her inspirational writings.

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. [Isaiah 41:10]

“See you next Tuesday I said at 6pm.” Exhale. I did it! Now could I keep that appointment? Only time would tell. Tuesday was winding down and it was almost six o’clock. Breathe in, breathe out, there’s nothing to be nervous about. You’re going to be just fine. I waited and watched as it slowly came towards me.

“Hello,” he said. I walked towards the car and got into the driver’s seat. As I settled into the seat, I prepared for my first driving lesson. However, it wasn’t really my first driving lesson.

Last winter, I was in the driver’s seat trying to help a former colleague move his car out of the snow. As I dragged my feet, I whispered a prayer to God asking Him not to let me kill anyone. My instructions were to put the car in drive and then put my foot on the gas. That didn’t work so I had to put my foot on the brake then put the car in reverse and then try the gas again. Wait a minute, which one was the gas and which was the brake? Thank God it didn’t budge I thought. If I didn’t quickly react then the guy in front of the car would be crushed between his own car and another. The guy behind the car would be crushed onto the gate.

The only vehicles that I have ever driven were the Coney Island go-carts and bumper cars. I did have a blast though. Anyway, this was a real car and I had to focus really hard if I wanted to get my driver’s license by the end of this year–no excuses.

As I slowly moved the car, I smiled. I was proud of myself for making it this far. I sat up and listened carefully to his instructions. Here I am at 21, back in school learning my ABCs of the road. Would I excel or fail miserably? It didn’t matter because I made a promise to myself and he was well aware that this was already an accomplished goal since I envisioned myself in a blue Toyota Highlander.

My first lesson was completed and I was ready for the second one a week later. “We need you to work next Tuesday evening,” said my supervisor. Fine, I rescheduled my second lesson for the following week. “Hi it’s me, I have to reschedule again but I will call you to reschedule when I get a better sense of my schedule. Sorry.”

I was frustrated and yet I knew that this would not be a sacrifice that I would make for anyone, not even my job. I had already seen the sacrifices my colleagues made and how it was a neverending cycle until they had nothing else to give and moved on. That would not be me!

Friday came and I didn’t get a chance to call my instructor. One missed call, it was him. “Kristia, I have not heard from you,” he said. “Remember the promise you made to yourself. I hope you haven’t given up on yourself.” I returned the call and boldly said, “I did not forget my promise, nor had I given up. I was just preoccupied with work.”

My second lesson finally came and I was ready to continue learning. Unfortunately two weeks had already passed since my first lesson and I was already at a disadvantage since I heavily depend on these weekly lessons and I don’t have the time nor the means by which to practice more than once a week. That didn’t matter to me, I was going to get it done.

With every mistake, came a groan, as my anger and frustration quickly came over me. I began to wonder if I even belonged in the driver’s seat. Would my inability to grasp the ABCs of driving mean that I would forever be a passenger or straphanger, highly dependent on others?

The more mistakes I made, the more I gave up on myself. My instructor quickly noticed as I grew more and more distant from him and the coversation. I kept silent and lost my focus. He had nothing but encouraging words to share with me. “You cannot let the devil tell you you cannot drive,” he said. “You must not let him win. Life is about fighting and you should not give up so easily.” I understood where he was coming from and was in complete agreement but it would take me a while to recover and find the inner strength to renew my drive to drive.

For whatsoever is born of God overcometh the world: and this is the victory that overcometh the world, even our faith. [1 John 5:4]

As a Christian, we should never be so quick to let ourselves be discouraged by what went wrong. As a Christian, we should know better than anyone that this world is not perfect. The only perfection that was on this earth was our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ. Obstacles, dilemmas, problems, situations, hindrances, crossroads, whichever you choose to call it, will always be there. We must always remember that,

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. [Philippians 4:13]

Rest assured that I have already scheduled my next lesson and I will have my driver’s license because I have already claimed it.

But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. [1 Corinthians 15:57]

In this day and age, we have obstacles in our everyday lives. Whether it is work, school, church, or issues at home, we cannot rely on our own strength. Look to God first for strength and guidance.

But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. [Matthew 6:33] The LORD is my strength and song, and He is become my salvation: He is my God. [Exodus 15:2]

Edit this entry.

