Skip to content

Annointed Beauty Daily Devotions Ministry


On Saturday evening, the hubby and I went to a benefit concert being sponsored at a local church on behalf of Haiti. When we arrived there it was almost filled to capacity. It was great to see youngsters who felt passionately enough about Haiti to bring all of their friends to the concert to help raise money.

While waiting for the concert to start, I noticed the amount of to and fro that took place. It was almost as though a “fashion show” was going on. Everyone wanted to be seen or in some cases heard. The concert finally began with a praise and worship segment by Esther Lormil & friends. I must say although this is only the second time that I have been privileged to hear this young lady sing, she is just ANOINTED for worship.

As we sang “How great is our God”, I just felt a fresh wind and sense of joy as I was being ushered into the presence of God. After her worship segment and a few other intro items, the invited artists began gracing the stage. I observed the crowd and noticed how much talking, criticizing, and sizing-up was going on in the assembly. I wondered if they had forgotten where they were and why they’ve come.

As the night went on, many beautiful selections were presented. Near the concert’s end, David Metayer & One Accord went up. They are a very popular group in the NY-NJ-CT tri-state area. Before they ministered, David shared an experience with us. He shared that as he arrived at the concert, a group approached him and asked him did he sing yet. He said No. They then informed him that they traveled all the way from New Jersey just to hear him sing.

When he shared this, I was a little taken aback. “Wow! That’s commitment.” I said to myself. He then proceeded to point out that if you are always following man for a blessing, you will never be blessed. I thought about his statement for a minute and realized that a large portion of the concert attendees consisted of individuals who had particularly showed up to see or support their favorite group. Although there is nothing wrong with supporting an artist, we must check ourselves and ensure that we are not forgotten why we’ve come into the presence of the Lord.

It is not about the choir, singer, praise team or speaker; it is about God. We must not get so caught up in being a fan of man that we forget to be a worshipper of God. The artist, speaker or minister you admire is not who they are in and of themselves. It is the grace and MERCY of God that has allowed them to grace his presence and be a blessing to you. Therefore, the true focus of your admiration and praise should be none other than God. This reminds me of a song sung by Kiera Sheard. It is entitled: Make me invisible.

The crowd applauds and now your on
They start to play your song
Did He even come along
Or did He get left behind
The day that you decided
You would out shine His light
But He’s headlining this show
To introduce Him is what I’m here for
So without further delay
[Chorus:
It’s times to take to the stage
And I move out the way
So that they only see
You that’s inside of me
Don’t let me block the view
That’s not what I wanna do
I gotta be see through
Make sure they see You
Make me invisible

Kiera has got the right idea. When you enter into the presence of God, it is His time. He is the star and that settles it. Your ministry should never uplift you more than uplifting God. Even your worship should never be dependent on how you feel today, which praise team is up there, which speaker is preaching or what soloist is singing. The only thing that matters is, IS GOD HERE?

I commend David Metayer for his willingness to set things straight and deter the attention to the true ONE who deserves it – God. Never allow yourself to think that your accomplishments are self-made. Without God you wouldn’t touch the heart of even an ant. It is His anointing, MERCY and grace that has brought you this far and will take you even higher. Lower YOU and uplift Him- this is the motto of every true ministry that is about the Father’s business.

Today, analyze your ministry and your life. See to it that all you do is to the glory of God and not of man. As human beings we all have a desire for recognition. This is normal. However, do not allow it to cause you to stand in front God instead of behind Him. Let God praise you. His recognition last forever. The next time you enter into the presence of God, ask yourself “why have I come?”

Memory Verse:
Whoever speaks, is to do so as one who is speaking the utterances of God; whoever serves is to do so as one who is serving by the strength which God supplies; so that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom belongs the glory and dominion forever and ever. 1 Peter 4:11 (NASB)

Prayer Prompt:
“Dear Lord,
Help me to be invisible in my ministry and let others only see You instead of me. Forgive me if I have ever glorified myself instead of glorifying you. Teach me to remember why I have come into your presence and……”

Tags: , , , ,

