Skip to content

Annointed Beauty Daily Devotions Ministry


New York City is known for its skyscapers, yellow cabs, transit system and fast paced lifestyle. As a New Yorker, I can tell you that it is as beautiful as you’ve heard. Although I was born and raised here in “the big apple”, I still marvel at some of the sights sometimes. However, amidst the bustling streets, and skycrapers you will find thousands of homeless people.

Panhandling on a NYC train is illegal and the recording on the transit system reminds you of this every 5 minutes. However, in this economy some of the stories you hear and see just tug at your heart. One of which that irritates me is seeing veterans who fought for our freedom begging for some change or food. These people risked their lives to serve our country and now have to panhandle for their livelihood. That is just wrong! They ought to be taken care of for the rest of their lives.


Courtesy of United Way of Kings County

When I look at these gulf war veterans, WWII veterans, families, youth, etc. panhandling on the train, I can’t help but to feel humbled. Why? That could have been me! I am no better than they are. I didn’t do anything to deserve my blessings and neither did they do anything to deserve homelessness.

I remember one day seeing a young lady panhandling on the train. I looked up and was shocked to see that it was a girl that I went to New York University with. She is now a mother and her military husband was killed in Iraq and she was recently laid off. That could have been me. She could have been you.

Many look at the homeless on the trains, streets, etc. as second class citizens. I have seen the looks on the train when they ask for change or food. As Christians, we must remember that had it not been for the GRACE and MERCY of God we would be on the streets ourselves. Nothing you “own” did you earn on your own. God gave you the breath of life and strength that allowed you to get up every morning and earn a days wages. If it had not been for God, you or your spouse would have been in that last round of layoffs. If it had not been for God, your house would have been foreclosed. If it had not been for God, they would have repossesed your car last week.

It is the grace of God that has allowed you to have everything you possess. Because of this, we ought to show compassion to our fellow man. Buy groceries for your neighbor that has been laid off. Prepare some sandwiches and bring it to the homeless man who sits in the same spot everyday. We all can do something to alleviate someone else’s burdens.

Today as you roam the streets or hop on the train, if you see someone in need don’t look down on them. Help if you can and if you cant , thank God for your blessings because that guy/girl right there could have been YOU!

Memory Text: Matthew 25:34-40 (NIV)

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’

Prayer Prompt:
Dear Lord,
Thank you for your grace and mercy towards me and my family. I know that had it not been for you, I would have been on the streets begging bread. Lord, teach me how to have compassion for my fellow man and use me as a vessel of change to help alleviate their burdens. Inspire me with ideas and ways that I can help your children who are in need and let me never forget that all that I am and all that I have is a gift from you…

Amen!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

