Skip to content

Annointed Beauty Daily Devotions Ministry


I was watching Joel Olsteen last night and he was talking about having a critical spirit. In his sermon he shared the story of a wife who would call her husband over to the window everyday and point to the neighbors laundry. “Look how dingy her clothes are. Doesn’t she know how to do laundry? I wouldn’t let my family wear those.” She said. One morning she woke up looked out the window and saw that all of the clothes were bright and clean. She called her husband over and said “Honey, she finally learned how to wash her clothes.” Her husband replied, “Honey, I woke up this morning and just cleaned our window.”

Like this lady, there are many of us who can only see the negatives in everyone and everything because we are looking through dirty windows. If everytime you speak to someone it’s about what you don’t like about them, you will eventually cause them to pull away. I have a fellow church member who has a masters degree in criticism and is working on her doctorate in fault-finding. No matter how well the program would go, she would be the person to point out that the microphone cord was on the left hand side and should have been on the right.

As Christians we need to put away the spirit of criticism and develop a spirit of praise. Stop sweating the small stuff and start praising the real stuff. Take the time to recognize the strengths of your children, recognize your husband’s efforts, your employee’s creativity and your friend’s talents. People naturally respond better to praise than criticism. Life is hard enough without having people throwing you under the bus.

It’s time to put away the spirit of criticism and burn it. If you have friends that do nothing BUT criticize everything, GET NEW FRIENDS. I am a strong believer that if “so-called” friends can trash someone when they are not around, they will trash you when you are not around. Joel Olsteen said it best when he said “Your ears are not garbage dispensers. Don’t allow people to fill it up with trash.” Don’t just sit there and take it all in, tell them you don’t want to know, tell them let’s pray for them instead or just simply excuse yourself. Whatever you chose to do, don’t chose to sit there and partake in it.

For the past few months, I have been walking out of gossip parties and avoiding criticism stations like it’s the plague. I do not want to partake in these discussions and I am better off knowing less than knowing everything. The Bible speaks against gossip and that is all I need to know to keep my mouth shut.

Here are some of the verses:

Leviticus 19:16 “‘Do not go about spreading slander among your people. “‘Do not do anything that endangers your neighbor’s life. I am the LORD.

Psalm 101:5 Whoever slanders his neighbor in secret, him will I put to silence; whoever has haughty eyes and a proud heart, him will I not endure.

Proverbs 17:9 He who covers over an offense promotes love, but whoever repeats the matter separates close friends.

Matthew 12:36 But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken.

Ephesians 4:29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

The Lord speaks about this throughout the scriptures and it is in our best interest to rebuke this spirit and use our tongues for the right purpose. My mouth was created to praise the Lord. I cannot use it on the praise team, bible class, pulpit and in witnessing, then turn around and trash, bash and destroy someone’s reputation with the very same mouth.

Let us commit to changing our critical spirits. Like momma would say, if you don’t have anything good to say, DON’T SAY ANYTHING AT ALL.

Memory Text:
Whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech. 1 Peter 3:10

Prayer Prompt:
Dear Lord,
Help me to rid myself of this critical spirit. Show me how to see others through your clear windows and lift their spirits by praising their gifts. Teach me to tame my tongue and guard my ears from gossip and let your praises be the only thing that comes from my lips and….

Tags: , , , , ,

