Skip to content

Annointed Beauty Daily Devotions Ministry


As I rode into the city this morning, a particular advertisement caught my attention.

Living Oprah

My One-Year Experiment to Walk the Walk of the Queen of Talk

Author: Robyn Okrant

I have seen the poster before and everytime I did see it, it bothers me just a tad. Now I have nothing against Oprah or anyone who chooses to follow her advice. However, please permit me to ask a question. Do we hang on every word that comes from the Word of God the way we hang on every word that comes out of Oprah’s mouth? We buy what she buys. We read what she reads. We eat what she eats. We go where she goes. We support what she supports. Do we do the same with God?

God has given us clear guidelines detailing how we should live, what we should eat, what we should support, etc. Yet, we find it so difficult to follow His advice. He created us but we can’t learn to trust His guidelines. He puts food on our table but we can’t follow His rules. When I was growing up, my parents would say “Pa ka gen deux granmoun nan caye la”. It translates to, There can’t be two adults in this house. It meant that they are the adults and I am the child. So I better abide by their rules. If only we would realize that God is the adult in this world and we are His children. What would our world be like if we all decided to follow the advice from the Word of God? What if we really started to love thy neighbor as thyself? Would we still have wars? Murders? The world would be a much better place if we would just live our lives the way God has asked us to live.

Now I haven’t read Robyn Okrant’s book so I can not judge or accuse her of any wrong doing. I was in fact inspired by the advertisment to commit to a lifetime of following the advice from the Word of God. Take a close look at your life, are you following the Word of God? Can others clearly identify you as a child of the Most High? If not, what’s hindering you?

Let us all commit ourselves to writing a new chapter in our lives. Maybe one-day I will see a poster that says:

Living God

My Lifetime Commitment to Walk the Walk of the King of Kings

Author: YOU!

Memory Text:

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. – Philippians 4:8

Prayer Prompt:

Dear Lord,

Teach me how to live a life that pleases you. If there is anything in me that falsely represents you, please take it away. I want to live a life that is guided by your Word. Help me to commit my life to serving and living for you…

Tags: , , , ,

