Skip to content

Annointed Beauty Daily Devotions Ministry


So, last night after work the hubby and I went out to dinner at our favorite AUTHENTIC Italian restaurant in Park Slope – TUTTA PASTA. We just love this place. The dinner was fabulous and we enjoyed each others company and just being together. My Salmon Entree was AMAZING. Roasted Potatoes, asparagus and green peppers garnished my sauteed Salmon. Kenton had the Fettucine Alfredo with Chicken. As we enjoyed our dinner, I started to analyze how the devil almost caused me to ruin a perfectly good night over FOOLISHNESS.

Kenton and I agreed to meet @ Franklin Avenue which is a hop skip and a jump from Park Slope. When I got out of the station, I didn’t see him. I started to wonder what was taking him so long. Then, I received a phone call and He told me to cross Eastern Parkway to meet him as he was parked across the street. Ofcourse I started to whine. Why’d he have to go across the street? He always pick me up on this side (mind you what he did made more sense since we were headed in that direction anyway). I mean doesn’t he know I have these ridiculous heels on and it is such a trek to cross the parkway.(cause you know us women swear that our men are psychic and should know all things)UGHHHHH!

During my little rant while crossing the street, I heard a little voice say SHUT IT UP! (yup God has a sense of humor) He was right. What was I fussing about? All I was asked to do was CROSS THE STREET! As I pondered on my worthless argument, I realized that many of us do this in our spiritual lives. God tells us to do something simple (and reasonable) but we fuss and rant about it as though He is asking us to jump off a ledge. If I had allowed my emotions and thoughts to control the evening, we would not have enjoyed such a beautiful dinner. It makes me wonder how many things have we lost out on because we decided to let our human emotions get in the way of God’s divine will?

Sometimes, we just need to learn to do what we are told. Sometimes, we need to think before we speak. Not every battle is worth a fight. The next time you begin to feel angry or irritated about something, step back and think is your attitude warranted and is this battle worth it. I pray that my almost silly mistake last night, will prove to be a blessing to you all.

Memory Text

Whoever is slow to anger is better than the mighty, and he who rules his spirit than he who takes a city.
-Proverbs 16:32

Prayer Prompt:
Dear Lord,
Teach me how to control my anger and help me to turn away all wrath with a tender word. Give me the discernment to know what battles are worth fighting and to live daily as a living example of Jesus Christ.

image

Tags: , , ,

